Winter Athletes Celebrated at Banquet

Feb. 27 program honors All Conference and Cougar Medal recipients in addition to team awards given by each coach

Hannah Briley, Athletics Editor

The following students were recognized for Northern Athletic Conference All Conference Honors:

Girl’s Basketball: junior Amina Miles; freshman Savannah Goodwin, Honorable Mention (HM); junior Megan Wimmer (HM)

Boys’ Basketball: freshmen A.J. Smalls (HM) and Nigel Lucas (HM)

Wrestling: freshman Caleb Beaty, juniors Ben Lance and Ronnel Wilson and senior Connor Voelker

Swimming Boys: sophomore Tate Bacon, junior Ben Walton and seniors Gideon Bezuidenhout and Melvin McLawhorn

Swimming Girls: freshmen Clarissa Bezuidenhout and Chrisna Bezuidenhout, junior Danielle Hirsch and senior Kaila Park

The following athletes were awarded Cougar Medals for exemplary achievement during the 2019-20 winter season:

Taylor Bell, Isabella Frey, Olivia Fishlein and Leah Given for qualifying for states in the Indoor Track 4×800 relay. Frey also qualified in the 3200 and Given in the 1000.

MJ Ellis, Nick Fortin, Nick Hottell, Brandon Lamberti and Andrew Mallo for qualifying for states in the Indoor Track 4×800 relay.

Clarissa and Chrisna Bezuidenhout, Danielle Hirsch and Kaila Park for qualifying for the swim state meet in the 200 free relay team. Chrisna also qualified in the 100 backstroke while Clarissa qualified in the 200 free and 500 free as well.

Tate Bacon, Gideon Bezuidenhout, Melvin McLawhorn, David Quaresma and Ben Walton for qualifying as members of the 200 free and 200 IM relay teams. Bezuidenhout also qualified in the 100 breaststroke.

Ben Lance and Connor Voelker were honored for their 6th place finishes in the state wrestling tournament. Ronnel Wilson was honored for his 2nd place finish.